Mutual recognition - E1 swimming pool certification

Mutual recognition is available to people who wish to become an accredited swimming pool certifier (Category E1) in NSW and are already registered as a swimming pool inspector in another State.

Swimming pool certifiers must fully understand the NSW legislation and their legislative obligations. Swimming pool legislation in NSW is more complex than in Queensland or other States.

NSW swimming pool legislation

NSW swimming pool legislation includes the Swimming Pools Act 1992 and Swimming Pools Regulation 2008. The applicable Australian Standard also depends on the age of the swimming pool, whether or not it has been substantially altered or rebuilt, and whether or not an exemption applies.

The pdf E1 mutual recognition information sheet (PDF | 65.6K) lists examples of specific NSW requirements all certifiers must know. It also contains questions about the legislation which you should be able to answer correctly and without hesitation.

Recommended training

In the interests of public safety and professional practice, you are strongly encouraged to complete a Board-approved NSW E1 Swimming Pool Certification course before working as a pool barrier certifier in NSW. Education is the best way to avoid legislative breaches, complaints and disciplinary action.

Queensland Pool Safety Inspectors who plan to undertake further training in Queensland should first make sure it's an approved activity listed on the QBCC website.

Applying for accreditation

More information